Upcoming Raw Show – January 15

Recently I was scouted for a RAW art show at the Mod Club on January 15, 2016.  It seems like a fairly big event – possibly the biggest I’ve participated in.  In some ways, though, it reminds me of the Speakerbox Vision events I took part in a few years ago.  They were one day shows at a restaurant/bar (Abyssinia) where the only the artists and the seven or so guests they invited (sold tickets to) were invited.  There was a silent auction, performance art, and a lot of mingling.

Some stuff sold, though nothing of mine.  It was an interesting way to get people having fun and interacting, which is important, if you want people to show up to future events.  I was a little put off by the idea that nobody would be there who wasn’t invited by an artist.  In that way it reminded me of that one gallery event, and seemed… like a wasted opportunity, maybe.  With small events, it’s probably par for the course.  The press is not interested.  Still, the idea that they couldn’t, even if they wanted to, seemed wrong.  alienLotus.png

In this way, RAW seems to be doing things better.  They do have the artists sell tickets, which makes up the entrance fee, but they also invite the press to come.   Because of the fact that they are worldwide, press do show up.  So this seems like a great thing to participate in.  They are offering a fashion show, makeup and accessory art, performances, and curated visual art.

Curated, according to the agent I spoke with, means a couple of things.  First, that not everyone is able to participate (I’m sceptical about this part- but having never been, I can’t say one way or another).  Second, that the art that is in the show is organized in such a way that it flows.  Pancakes and Booze had everything just thrown up and squished together, which maybe kept anything from looking its best.

At the moment, all I can do is speculate.  I will try to report back after the fact, because I think it’s important to review the sorts of things artists can participate in.  Not everything is worth the time or money after all.  This one looks pretty good, though, from the outset.


Leave a comment